Saturday, May 12, 2012

Dead Witch Walking Review

Title: Dead Witch Walking
Author: Kim Harrison
Series: Hollows / Rachel Morgan #1
Genre: Urban Fantasy, Witches, Vampires, Demons, Bounty Hunters, Faeries

Dead Witch Walking is the first installment of the Rachel Morgan/ Hollows series by urban fantasy writer Kim Harrison.

The story sets in an alternate universe Cincinnati on which all supernatural entities like vampires, werewolves faeries, etc. At this time these beings are now called "Interlanders" At the time there are several agencies that handle the enforcement of these Inderlanders, one of which is the Federal Inderland Bureau which the new moniker of FBI and it's rival agency the Inderland Security or I.S.

Our story protagonist is Rachel Morgan, a witch who works as an I.S. runner which is basically a contract bounty hunter who hunt illegal Inderlands with Jenks a pixie as her backup and her colleague a "living" vampire name Ivy who is I.S. best runner.

The story gets interesting when all three decided to quit the agency they are working for and create their own "bounty hunter agency" which they become a target by their former employer's assassins. They also found themselves a string of inter agency conflicts as well as a rodent fighting ring with the rodents turn out to be people that have been turned into one.

What I really love about this book is the comical banter between Rachel and Jenks as they remind me of another Harry Dresden and Bob the Skull in Urban Fantasy hit Dresden Files by Jim Butcher.

All in all, I really love the direction of the story as this book is considered a great introduction of all characters involve. I'm looking forward to the next book of this series.
Other Related Post Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...